7 Tinubu’s men that make Buhari’s ministerial list

Nigerians storm social media Tuesday, July 23, 2019 when the ministerial list of President Muhammadu Buhari was presented before the Senate during plenary.

It was a list Nigerians had been waiting for. There had been hundreds of speculations, permutations and all sorts of guesses regarding those that will be members of his NextLevel cabinet.

A lot of people were shocked that those they predicted did not make the list. Interestingly, only the former governor of Lagos State and the former Minister of Power, Works and Housing was the only the returning minister from the Southwest.

One of the things that makes the latest Buhari’s ministerial list interesting is the fact that those who make the list from Southwest geopolitical zone are those who are political allies of the National Leader of All Progressive Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

One can not rule out the influence of the Southwest APC heavyweight in the latest list considering the powerful role he played in the reelection of the president in the Southwest and across the country.

Recalled that Tinubu was in full control of Buhari/Osinbajo presidential campaign before the February 2019 presidential poll.

During the inauguration of the Presidential Campaign Council, Jagaban, as he’s fondly called by his supporters, was made the Co-Chairman, but Buhari shocked the entire country when he announced that Tinubu would oversee the campaign structure.

The ministerial list is out and from what we have all of them from the southwest are political allies of the Tinubu.

1) Richard Adeniyi Adebayo: He is the first executive governor of Ekiti State between 1999 to 2003. He was one of the founding members of Alliance for Democracy, the party that dominated the southwest geopolitical zone immediately democracy returned in 1999.

Image result for Richard Adeniyi Adebayo

Mr. Adebayo is the son of Late General Major Robert Adeyinka Adebayo a former governor of the defunct Western State of Nigeria

2) Babatunde Fashola: One of the representatives of Lagos State is the former governor of the state. He is the only returning Southwest minister that makes the NextLevel cabinet. He also held the biggest ministry between 2015 to 2019.

Image result for Babatunde Fashola

There was a time it was speculated that he had an issue with Tinubu, but that was resolved and the report says both men are on a smooth political page. Fashola has been described as a brilliant lawyer.

3)  Adeleke Olurunnimbe Mamora: Political observers may not necessarily be surprised about Mamora making the list. He is from Lagos State, a former Speaker of Lagos State House of Assembly before taking a political flight to the House of Senate as Lagos East Senator. He has been one of the most consistent members of APC and never relenting ally of Tinubu.

Image result for Adeleke Olurunnimbe Mamora

4) Rauf Aregbesola: Representing Osun State is the immediate past governor of the State of Virtue, Ogbeni. At a time it was speculated that he was nursing the ambition of going to the Senate. But he told his supporters that he could only honour an appointment from the Federal Government.

He said it as ridiculous for him as a former governor to contest for Senatorial District election, which he described as a section of a state.

Image result for Rauf Aregbesola

5) Olamilekan Adegbite: He is a loyal politician to Tinubu and his former boss, Senator Ibikunle Amosun. Adegbite is the immediate past Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure in Ogun.

Image result for Olamilekan Adegbite

6) Sunday Dare: From Oyo State is Sunday Akin Dare, the Executive Commissioner at the Nigerian Communications Commission. He replaces Adebayo Shittu. He is an ICT expert. He is also one of the allies of Bola Tinubu.

Image result for Sunday Dare

7) Tayo Alasoadura: Representing Ondo State is a former Ondo Central Senator Omotayo Alasoadura.

Image result for Tayo Alasoadura

From Abuja quoted the Senate President Ahmed Lawan as saying that the screening of the 43 nominees would begin on Wednesday, July 23, 2019.