#NigeriaDecides2019: Capital Oil Boss, Ifeanyi Ubah Halts Uba Brothers’ Senatorial Dynasty, Declared Winner Of Anambra South Senatorial Seat!

Another major upset has just been announced as Oil magnet and Capital Oil boss, Ifeanyi Ubah has been declared as the substantive winner of the Anambra South Senatorial election held on Saturday.

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Dr Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party winner of the Anambra South senatorial election held on Saturday.

Ifeanyi Uba is the Chairman/CEO of Capital Oil.

The oil magnate defeated the incumbent Senator of the area Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress and his younger brother of the Peoples Democratic Party to emerge victorious in the race.

He also defeated the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance Nicholas Ukachukwu.

Ukachukwu had defeated Bianca Ojukwu, the widow of late Igbo leader, Chief Chukwuemeka Odimumegwu Ojukwu in the APGA’s primary to become the candidate of the party.

The declaration of Ifeanyi Ubah as the Senator-elect of the district has ended what the people of the area describe as “Uba brothers’ senatorial dynasty”.

The Uba family had held sway to the senatorial seat of the area since 1999.
The eldest of them all, Dr Ugochukwu Uba was the first to occupy the seat; followed by Andy Uba.

“If not for the oil magnate, Chris Uba who came second in the last Saturday’s poll would have been the third person in the family to have occupied the senatorial seat of the area,”  Collins Eze stated.

Atiku Leads In Akwa-Ibom

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar, is in clear lead out of the 17 local government area results released so far in Akwa Ibom State by the Independent National Electoral Commission in Uyo.

According to the results released at the state INEC in the presence of the Returning Officer, Prof. Faraday Osasere, Atiku won against his closest rival, President Muhammadu Buhari with clear margin.

This came just as  indications emerged that Senator Godswill Akpabio might lose his re-election bid to his PDP rival, Chris Ekpenyong.

The confirmed 17 presidential results released so far are Mbo LGA, APC  5299, PDP 4750; Ibeno LGA, APC 1011 PDP 6373; Urue Offong/Oruko LGA, APC 6111, PDP 7431; Nsit Atai LGA, APC 6539, PDP 11692; Obot-Akara LGA, APC 6174, PDP  12,250; Mkpat Enin LGA, APC 3191, PDP 13646; Onna LGA, APC 1850, PDP 21790; Ikot Abasi LGA, APC 5710, PDP 8353; Eastern Obolo LGA, APC 1406, PDP  8890; Ikono LGA, APC 3166, PDP 8100; Ini LGA, APC 5646, PDP   13344; Uruan LGA, APC 5437, PDP 10624; Esit-Eket LGA, APC 1405, PDP 11146; Nsit Ubium LGA, APC 5840, PDP 11575; Etinan LGA APC 5223, PDP 18495; Ika LGA, APC 3352, PDP 10493 and Nsit Ibom LGA, APC 5776, PDP 12201.

READ ALSO: Atiku leads in Ondo, wins 12 LGs, APC 6

For the unofficially confirmed result of the Ikot-Ekpene senatorial district where Akpabio is believed to have been defeated, the results are Etim Ekpo LGA, PDP 6603, APC 2671; Abak LGA, PDP 10926, APC 9787; Ika LGA, PDP 9257, APC 4152; Ukanafun LGA, PDP 25952, APC 14452; Oruk Anam, PDP 25123, APC 10534; Obot-Akara, PDP 13184, APC 6229; Ikono, PDP 7951, APC 3083; Ini LGA PDP 13302, APC 5897.


Source: Punch

Lets have your comments on this results in the comment section.