Drama erupts in Kwara as Saraki’s agent refuses to sign election result sheet, exchange words with Kwara INEC REC

The agent for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the collation centre for the Kwara Central Senatorial District, Hon. Isiaka Magaji, has rejected the results of the election as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Magaji refused to sign the result sheet at the collation centre situated inside INEC’s office, Ilorin.




He said, “The report that I got from our agents in the four local government areas that made up Kwara central said there was massive electoral fraud in some polling units, especially in Ilorin West Local Government Area.

The PDP agent later presented a protest letter to the returning officer for the election, Prof. Olawale Olatubosun.

Olatubosun, however, refused to accept the letter from Magaji, saying, “I lack jurisdiction to receive such letter.”




The Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, was the PDP candidate for the Kwara Central Senatorial District in the Saturday’s election.

Saraki, who was contesting for a re-election bid into the Senate was contesting against the major opposition candidate, Dr. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe, of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

However, it was met with mixed reactions as Saraki lost his seat for the Kwara central Senatorial District to Dr. Oloriegbe.



According to reports, Saraki had lost to Dr Yahaya Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in Saturday’s Senatorial election

Oloriegbe polled a total of 123, 808 votes to defeat the Senate President who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara Central Senatorial District.



Meanwhile, the Presidency has also reacted as the Senate President lost his bid for reelection into the Senate.

Reacting to the news, the Personal Asssitant to the President on New Media, Bashir Ahmaad, took to his verified Twitter page congratulating the APC candidate, Oloriegbe for defeating Saraki.



Alongside a picture of Buhari with Oloriegbe, He wrote: “Senate President, Sen. Bukola Saraki has lost his re-election bid to the Red Chamber to the ruling All Progressives Congress’s candidate Ibrahim Oloriegbe in all the four local councils in the senatorial district.

“Ó tó gé! Congratulations Senator-elect, Oloriegbe. Nigeria Decides.”



Oloriegbe polled 123, 808 votes to defeat the Senate President who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local government areas of the Kwara Central Senatorial District.

The result of the election was announced by the Senatorial District Returning Officer, Prof. Olatunbosun Owoyomi, from the University of Ilorin.

In Asa Local Government Area, Oloriegbe polled 15, 932 votes to defeat Saraki who scored 11, 252 votes.


Image result for oloriegbe


The APC candidate also got 30, 014 votes in Ilorin East Local Government Area to 14, 654 polled by his PDP rival.

In Ilorin West, which is considered Saraki’s stronghold, Oloriegbe polled 51, 531 votes to defeat the Senate President with 30, 075 votes.