ELECTION! INEC dares Boko Haram terrorists, completes distribution of electoral materials to Borno LGs, ahead of Saturday polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has confirmed that it has completed the distribution of election materials in Borno state to facilitate smooth conduct of Saturday’s Presidential and National Assembly election.

This was disclosed today by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) for INEC in the state, Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim, stating that the commission distributed election materials across the 27 local government areas in the state between Thursday and Friday.



He explained that materials were sent to the 13 distant local government areas on Thursday, while the materials were transported to the remaining 14 local councils close to the state capital on Friday.

“We transported election materials and personnel to long distant council areas on Thursday, and we supplied the materials to Maiduguri and nearby areas on Friday. All arrangements for logistics, deployment of over 22,000 workers are completed and ready for the election. I inspected facilities at the Teachers Village, Internally Displaced Persons and other camps as well as polling units in Jere and Maiduguri Local Government Areas, to make corrections and ensure that all is set for the election,” the REC said.



Ibrahim said that the commission had adopted proactive measures to ensure that sensitive and non-sensitive election materials, as well as workers, were deployed to all the polling units in good time.

According to him, INEC registered more than 2.3 million voters for the 2019 elections in the state, but 160,863 Permanent Voter Cards were uncollected at the end of the collection exercise.

The REC said further that 409,833 IDPs were captured on the commission’s record of the total voters registered in the state.



Ibrahim explained that the commission had developed a framework and guidelines for IDPs to vote to enable them exercise their franchise.

He explained that the affected IDPs from eight local government areas of the state would vote in various camps located in Maiduguri and other communities in the state.

The REC listed the affected council areas as Abadam, Guzamala, Marte, Dikwa, Ngala, Kukawa, Mobbar and Kala Balge.

Feel free to leave your comment on the story