REVEALED! See the number of female candidates in the Lagos gubernatorial race

The gubernatorial race in Lagos state is a highly contested post which has over 45 candidates seeking to govern Lagos, thereby contesting in the upcoming March 2 polls

The final list released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has revealed that seven females are among the 45 governorship hopefuls in the state.



The INEC final list of governorship candidates for the state was displayed on Thursday at the state commission’s headquarters in Yaba.

The females eying the state governorship seat include Asisat Abdulraheem of the African Peoples Alliance (APA); Patience Omeebere of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM) and Abiola Adeyemi of the Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC).

Others are Pauline Adegbe of the Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA); Omolara Adesanya of the Providence Peoples Congress (PPC); Oluwatoyin Ogunbambi of the Peoples Trust (PT) and Adebisi Ogunsanya of the Young Progressives Party (YPP).



They will be in contest with Mr Babajide Sanwo-olu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Mr Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), among others in the March 2 poll.

The list showed that DPC has both its governorship and deputy governorship candidates as females while the other six female candidates have male deputies.



Also, 22 male governorship candidates have female deputies while the other 16 male candidates have male deputies.

According to the list, the oldest among the governorship candidates is Dr Adetokunbo Pearse (70 years) of SDP while the youngest is Mr Samuel Anyamele (36 years) of UDP.

The INEC list also showed that 640 candidates are jostling for the 40 seats in the state house of assembly.



In the list, for the house of assembly, Alimosho Constituencies I and II had the highest number of contestants of 29 and 25 respectively.

Ibeju-Lekki Constituency II and Lagos Island I had the least seat contestants of 10 each.

Feel free to leave your comment on the story