Top Stories Today

Gov’ship Polls: See How APC, PDP, NNPP Shared The 24 States Declared So Far

The results from the governorship and state assembly election seem to be rounding up gradually as 24 out of the 28 states that partook in the polls have been declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Naija News gathered that out of the 24 declared states, the All Progressives Congress (APC) won in 15 states, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) bagged eight states and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) won in one state.

The further breakdown indicates that out of the APC’ 15 state wins, seven re-elections bids were won for Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara), Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Mai Mala Muni (Yobe), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Babagana Zulum (Borno). The APC also had eight new governors- elects which include Umar Namadi (Jigawa), Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto (Sokoto), Dikko Radda (Katsina), Uba Sani (Kaduna), Bassey Otu (Cross River), Mohammed Bago (Niger), Hyacinth Alia (Benue), and Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi).

For the PDP, two re-election bids which are Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Bala Mohammed (Bauchi) have been won so far and six first-term now governors-elect have been secured and they are Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom), Siminialayi Fubara (Rivers), Kefas Agbu (Taraba), Caleb Mutfwang (Plateau), and Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta).

For the NNPP, it was a historic win in Kano State for the party and its candidate, Abba Kabir to have secured its first governorship win in the state in more than 20 years. However, it was learnt that elections in Kebbi and Adamawa states have been declared inconclusive, while collation in Abia and Enugu states have been suspended to review some results in certain parts of the states.


Source: Naija News



Peter Obi officially petitions Presidential Election Tribunal

The Presidential Candidate of the Labour Party, Mr. Peter Obi has formally submitted a petition challenging the process leading to the outcome of the Presidential Election held on February 28, 2023.

The Independent National Electoral Commission had announced Asiwaju Ahmed Tinubu as the winner of the election after which it declared him President-Elect.

Chief Spokesman of the Obi-Datti Presidential Campaign of the Labour Party, Dr. Yunusa Tanko announced the submission of the petition in a short message to Vanguard, in the early hours of Tuesday.

He wrote, “It is official the Labor Party Presidential candidate Peter OBI has filed his petition to the presidential elections tribunal in Abuja. The process of reclaiming the people’s mandate has started.”


Source: Vanguard



INEC: You Are Envious Of Tinubu – APC Chieftain Knocks Amaechi

A former Vice Chairman, South South, of All Progressives Congress (APC), Prince Hilliard Eta, has tackled the immediate past Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, over his claim that the President-elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, influenced the appointment of the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu.

Recall that Amaechi, had in a chat on Arise TV, claimed that someone in Tinubu’s camp had nominated Yakubu for reappointment President Muhammadu Buhari. He accused INEC of working in cahoots with the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Rivers State to undermine APC candidates. But speaking to The Guardian, Eta claimed that Amaechi, who served two-term governor of Rivers State, was lying.

He said there was no iota of truth in Amaechi’s claim, adding that Amaechi position was purely based on malice and envy of Tinubu’s achievements. Eta, an ally to Tinubu, said: “I take very strong exception to Amaechi’s sour grapes towards Asiwaju. When Asiwaju won election about three weeks ago, I was foraging the newspapers and other information channels to see if he would congratulate the man who trounced him in the primary of our party.

“I did not see any such indication that Amaechi has done what is decent and democratic by congratulating the presidential candidate of the party that gave life to his dead political career, eight years ago. “Now, if he is alluding to the fact that whatever has happened to his rogue APC structure in Rivers State is as a result of the hand of Asiwaju in INEC.

Let him answer this pertinent questions: When in 2015 elections he failed woefully to deliver any substantial electoral value in Rivers State, was it Prof. Yakubu that was in charge of INEC at the time?” He said Rivers was the only state in the South South that did not give 25 per cent to Buhari. “We cannot tolerate a man, who has gotten so much from our party and has the audacity to speak ill of our party,” he said.


Source: Naija News