See the 18 AIGs and 33 Commissioners of Police appointed by new IGP

The Police Service Commission has approved the promotion of 18 Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspector-General of Police, and 33 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of Commissioner of Police.

The new AIGs include Maurice Yusuf; former acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Ibrahim Lamorde; Murtala Mani, a former Federal Capital Territory CP, Wilson Inalegwu and Dibal Yakadi.

Also promoted are Haruna Huzi Mshelia; Mohammad Mustafa; Hyelashinda Kimo Musa, former CP, FCT, Ebonyi and Akwa Ibom Commands; Adeleye Olusola Oyebade, a former Oyo State Command CP; Olusola Subair; Basen Gwana; David Folawiyo; Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim; Nkpa Inakwu; Chris Ezike, until now CP, Abia State; Moses Jitoboh; Wilson Akhiwu and others.

The new CPs are Uche Anozia; Nwamhi Felix Yame; Mohammed Abdulmumini Gimba; Musa Adze; Philip Sule Maku; Umaru Haruna Miringa; Usman Sule Gomna; Adamu Usman; Daniel Sokari-Pedro; Ahmed Mohammed Azare; Adamu Saleh Jajeri; Maigana Sani; Audu Madaki, Dajuma Lawal and others.

The Commission spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani, said in a statement on Thursday that the promotion was carried out during the 4th plenary meeting of the PSC in Abuja.

It said the Chairman of the Commission, Alhaji Musiliu Smith, noted that the nation was looking up to the newly promoted senior Police Officers to bring their wealth of experience to bear on the myriad of security problems facing the country.

He asked them to reciprocate “government’s good intentions by rededicating themselves to the service of their fatherland.”

The new promotions of AIGs and CPs became necessary after eight AIGs were promoted to fill in the space of the Deputy Inspectors General of Police, DIGs who were sent on compulsury retirement.

The Acting Inspector-General of Police Muhammed Adamu had retired all the Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIGs), The seven police chiefs’ departure was in furtherance of the convention that recommends the retirement of senior police chiefs when an officer junior to them in service or lower in rank is appointed to lead the institution.

They are: DIGs in charge of Finance & Administration, (Maigari Dikko); Operations (Habila Joshak); Information & Communications Technology (Emmanuel Inyang); Logistics & Supply (Agboola Oshodi-Glover); Research & Planning (Mohammed Katsina); Training & Development (Sani Mohammed) and Federal Criminal Investigation & Intelligence (Peace Ibekwe-Abdallah).

The seven officers were said to have joined the police before IGP Adamu, who was appointed on January 15 after the former IG Ibrahim Idris was retired when he attained 60 years. The retirement of the officers is said to be in line with the norm in the police force that recommends the retirement of senior police officers when an officer junior to them in service or lower in rank is appointed to lead the institution.