JUST IN: Super Eagles coach invites new defender for Brazil friendly

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has made a slight adjustment to his team for the October 13 friendly against the national team of Brazil.

The Franco-German tactician has extended an invitation to Tryonee Ebuehi who has been asked to replace Kenneth Omeruo who is understood to be injured.

Before now, Rohr had picked in-form Granada of Spain midfielder Ramon Azeez and Czech –based forward Peter Olayinka in Nigeria’s 23-man squad for the prestige friendly with five-time world champions Brazil in Singapore on Sunday, 13th October.

Azeez scored against Barcelona last weekend as Granada beat the Spanish champions 2-0 in La Liga while Olayinka became the first Nigerian to score on his Champions League debut in 15 years when he scored for Slavia Prague in a 1-1 draw with Inter Milan last week.

The Returnees

With Omeruo now out, the defenders that would be doing the hard work against the skillful Brazilians would be Abdullahi Shehu and Chidozie Awaziem back from injury, otherwise, the squad is largely unchanged from the side that was forced to a 2-2 draw by Ukraine in Dnipro on 10th September.

Goalkeepers Francis Uzoho, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, and Maduka Okoye are also retained,  England –based midfielder Wilfred Ndidi also returns after missing the Ukraine encounter with an injury.

Alex Iwobi, Oghenekaro Etebo, and Scotland –based Joseph Ayodele-Aribo, who scored on his debut against Ukraine, are all back in midfield, with Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, Moses Simon, Samuel Kalu, Paul Onuachu and Emmanuel Dennis all back in the frontline.

Former U20 team captain Ramon Azeez is called, so also is Peter Olayinka.

All invited players are expected to arrive in Singapore on Wednesday, 9th October.

The Match

Nigeria and Brazil will tango in a much –anticipated encounter at the Singapore National Stadium, Kallang, Singapore on Sunday, 13th October, 23 years after Nigeria, on their way to winning Africa’s first Olympic football gold, spanked the Selecao in the semifinals at the Athens Stadium in the State of Georgia, USA.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Tyronne Ebuehi; Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Anderson Esiti (PAOK Salonica, Greece); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic)