Nigeria V Ukraine: Watch Out For These 4 New Eagles

Four new players are set to get their debut for the Super Eagles in an international friendly game against Ukraine.

The recent international retirements by Odion Ighalo, captain John Obi Mikel and poor performances by some senior Super Eagles players means that new legs will be auditioned for open slots.

The goalkeeping department will also get a fresh new talent as Gernot Rohr lines out his men against Andriy Shevchenko’s men at the Dnipro Arena.

Nigerian fans will be looking out for Joe Aribo of Glasgow Rangers as a permanent solution to the creative midfield problem that troubled the team all through their matches at AFCON.

Joe Aribo

The search for a confident and consistent goalkeeper will see Fortuna Dusseldorf of Germany based Maduka Okoye throw in his gloves for the number one spot of the team.


English Born and Bordeaux of France striker, Josh Maja, a late call up to the team will get an opportunity to fulfill a lifetime dream of playing for the Super Eagles.


From the U23s to the super eagles, Dennis Bonaventure of Club Brugge in Belgium, another late call-up to the team will also step in as winger or striker depending the role gets.




Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)


Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)


Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Anderson Esiti (PAOK Salonica, Greece); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Joseph Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)


Forwards: Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Joshua Maja (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium)