Rohr confirms two top flight friendlies for Super Eagles before AFCON 2019 as CAF release official match schedule- See juicy details

Nigeria have been drawn against Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi in Group B of the 2019 Africa Cup Of Nations tournament on Friday evening. Prominent among the continental competition legends who thronged the Pyramids Centre as esteemed dignitaries for the event were the likes of El Hadji Diouf, Hosny Abd Rabo, Yaya Toure among others. The Syli nationale of Guinea are currently ranked 68th by FIFA while the Super Eagles other opponents, Madagascar nicknamed Barea and Burundi”s Swallows occupy the 107th and 136th respectively on the football governing body rankings.

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr Friday evening has disclosed that the Eagles will face Ghana’s Black Stars and the Teranga Lions of Senegal in two top flight friendlies before the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt. Rohr spoke to SuperSport’s Nigerian journalist, Chisom Mbonu Ezeoke moments after the draw ceremony in Cairo which saw Nigeria pooled along Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi in Group B.

“First the (Nigeria) players have to finish the season well and to be careful not to have injuries. And also to recover very well after a long season because it’s not easy to play this AFCON in the summer with the hot weather. “We are confident but it will not be easy. All the teams are strong. Burundi had the second highest goal scorer in the qualifiers behind Odion Ighalo.

“But we can be confident because we’ll have good preparations and friendlies, one normally against Ghana in Nigeria and the second one I think against Senegal here in Egypt,” Rohr noted..

The Super Eagles who have been crowned champions of the competition thrice will play their first group game against Burundi on June 22 at at Alexandria Stadium, Alexandria. Hosts Egypt and Zimbabwe will kick off the tourney at the Cairo Stadium on June 21st.

2019 AFCON Draw

Group A: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin,Guinea-Bissau

Share your view on this in the comment section below… Thanks