Ahmed Musa and Samuel Chukwueze the biggest winners at 2019 Aiteo/NFF awards

Al-Nassr’s Ahmed Musa was the biggest winner in the 2nd edition of the Aiteo/NFF Award held Monday night in Lagos. Musa was voted as the NFF Nigeria Player of the Year ahead of his national teammates, Odion Ighalo and Alex Iwobi, he also won the Goal of the Year awards. The 26-year-old’s impressive form at the 2018 World Cup and subsequent performances were greatly rewarded.

Ahmed Musa celebrates goal scored against Iceland

The Super Eagles forward was in a scintillating form at the World Cup in Russia scoring twice for Gernot Rohr’s men. The former Leicester City man also played a lead role in helping the Super Eagles qualify for their first Africa Cup of Nations tournament since 2013.

The former Leicester City man also played a lead role in helping the Super Eagles qualify for their first Africa Cup of Nations tournament since 2013. The 26-year-old also scooped the Goal of the Year, with his second strike against Iceland at the global tournament an audacious individual effort which helped the three-time African champions claim their only win in the competition.

Meanwhile, Villarreal sensation Samuel Chukwueze beat off competitions from Galatasaray’s Henry Onyekuru and Sporting Charleroi striker Victor Osimhen to scoop the Young Player of the Year. For Player of Year (Women Category), Onome Ebi was voted the winner ahead of her teammates Asisat Oshoala and Francesca Ordega.

Image result for Villarreal sensational Samuel Chukwueze

In the first award of the night, Anam Imo was voted as the Young Player of the Year in the Women category ahead of Rasheedat Ajibade. The winners were announced at a gala night on Monday in Lagos.

Image result for ahmed musa

For the coach of the year (Women category) the Super Falcons gaffer, Thomas Dennerby, emerged as the winner while Enugu Rangers’ Gbenga Ogunbote was voted winner in the Men Category ahead of Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr.

Image result for Super Eagles class of 1994

One of the highpoints of the night was the special recognition accorded to the Super Eagles class of 1994. The likes of Taribo West, Ben Iroha, Finidi George, Mutiu Adepoju, Daniel Amokachi, Uche Okechukwu, Agustine Equavoen, Peter Rufai, Alloy Agu, Austin Jay-Jay Okocha, Sunday Oliseh, Samson Siasia, Nduka Ugbade, Edema Fuludu and Rashidi Yekini’s daughter were all present to receive their awards.