Lagos police arraign eight suspected cultists

Eight men who allegedly terrorised members of the public were on Monday brought before an Ogudu Magistrates’ Court in Lagos State by the Police.
The men are listed as: Olarigbe Olanrewaju, 22; Moses Ademola, 23; Evans Ezikiel, 20; Taiwo Oluwasegun, 19; Ganiyu Bashiru, 21; Wasiu Balogun, 29; Sundau Omete, 24; and Tunde James, 20.
The men were alleged to have deployed dangerous weapons in a manner, meant to cause a breach of peace in the Oke-Iranle area of Ajah, in Lagos.
They are facing three charges of conspiracy, membership of an unlawful society and unlawful display of arms in the public.
The accused, however, pleaded not guilty to the charges and were granted bail in the sum of N50, 000 each by the Magistrate, Mrs E. Kubeinje.
The magistrate in her ruling ordered the accused to produce two sureties each in like sum.
In addition, the sureties should show evidence of tax payments, to the Lagos State Government.
Earlier, Police Prosecutor, Insp. Lucky Ihiehie, told the court that the accused committed the offences on November 8 at Oke-Iranle area of Ajah, in Lagos, at about 11pm.
He said that the eight suspects, who are said to be members of Eiye Confraternity, conspired and engaged in a fight with another group of unknown boys, also armed with dangerous weapons.